Connect Africa Scholarships



The Connect Africa Scholarships aim to leverage the recently expanded K-RITH research facilities in Durban, South Africa to offer young African scientists (undergraduates, postgraduates, post-doctoral research fellows and junior faculty) the chance to further develop as researchers.

The scholarships facilitate opportunities for international exposure, learning new techniques, attending conferences and scientific courses, taking part in teaching opportunities, building new scientific research collaborations, and developing global and intra-Africa partnerships by providing travel grants to K-RITH and other international sites.



Two categories of scholarships will be awarded:


Open to young African scientists who wish to travel to the KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV (K-RITH), and affiliated sites in KwaZulu-Natal. Individuals based at K-RITH and affiliated sites in KwaZulu-Natal can also apply to travel to other parts of Africa. African citizens or permanent residents of any of the 53 African countries plus territories, based at an institution in Africa are eligible to apply.


Open to young African scientists based at K-RITH and affiliated sites who wish to travel outside of Africa (e.g. the USA or Europe).


Scholarships of up to $2,000 are typically awarded. Awards will be given based on the perceived benefit and need of the trip to the applicant, the qualifications of the applicant, and the quality/content of the proposed trip.

K-RITH affiliated sites include: CAPRISA, the HIV Pathogenesis Programme (HPP), and the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Connect Africa Scholarships are generously supported by the Massachusetts General Hospital, a teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA, and through philanthropic support from the Mark and Lisa Schwartz Foundation through the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard.



Database Details

Current Research
No Profile listed
Thematic Focus
Life Sciences and Health

Applicant’s Country
Switzerland, EU, other, Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Djibouti, DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunesia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Allowed Usage

Applicant’s Position

Cycle Type

Partner Required

Last Modification
15. April 2020