EU / Horizon 2020 / EACEA

The following funding instruments of EU / Horizon 2020 / EACEA are listed in the database: 

The following projects are linked with EU / Horizon 2020 / EACEA:
No items found

Horizon 2020 is the eighth phase of the Framework Programmes for Research and Technological Development (also called Framework Programmes; hence the project’s alternative name of ‘FP8’), funding programmes created by the European Union in order to support and encourage research in the European Research Area (ERA). It implements Europe 2020 and Innovation Union strategies. The programme runs from 2014–2020 and provides an estimated €80 billion of funding, an increase of 23 per cent on the previous phase. The project became embroiled with the 2014 referendums held by Switzerland, which opted to impose a quota on immigration between that country and the EU.

Switzerland, which maintains bilateral agreements with the EU, was intended to be a participant of Horizon 2020, but negotiations that would have ensured this were put on hold in the aftermath of the decision. Turkey joined this funding program. This funding programme also includes Israel, which joined after protracted negotiations about whether funding could be directed to projects beyond the Green Line; eventually the two parties agreed to disagree, and Israel published its views in an Appendix to the official documents. Open access is an underlying principle of Horizon 2020, intended to improve research results, create greater efficiency, improve transparency and accelerate innovation.

The programme consists of three main research areas that are called “pillars”:
The first pillar, “Excellent science” focuses on basic science. It has a budget of 24 billion euro.
“Leadership in enabling and industrial technologies” (LEIT) is the second pillar with a budget of 14 billion euro.
The third pillar funds potential solutions to social and economic problems, “Societal challenges”, with a total of 30,1 billion euro.

The Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency or EACEA is an agency of the European Union located in Brussels, Belgium. It manages parts of the Union’s programs in education, culture, and audiovisual fields.
EACEA is part of the European Commission and is supervised by the following Directorates-General of the European Commission:

  • Education and Culture (DG EAC)
  • Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT)
  • Migration and Home Affairs (DG HOME)
  • Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection (DG ECHO)

EACEA manages the following programmes:

  • Creative Europe
  • Erasmus+ (including the Eurydice Network)
  • Europe for Citizens
  • EU Aid Volunteers

EACA has 10 operational units (A, B, C) and 3 horizontal units (R):

A1. Erasmus+: Prospective Initiatives, Policy Networks, Programme and Linguistic Support.
A2. Erasmus+: -Higher Education- Knowledge Alliances, Bologna Support.
A3. Erasmus+: -Higher Education- Erasmus Mundus Joint master’s degrees.
A4. Erasmus+: -Higher Education- International Capacity Building.
A5. Erasmus+: Schools, Vocational Training, Adult Education, Platforms.
A6. Erasmus+: Sport, Youth. EU Aid Volunteers.
A7. Erasmus+: Education and Youth Policy Analysis.
B1. Creative Europe: Culture.
B2. Creative Europe: Media.
C1. Europe for Citizens.
R1. Human Resources, Administration, Communication.
R2. Finances, Accounting, Programming.
R3. Informatics, Logistics.

Authority or Government Agency


Officially based in:

Contact Details

Delegation der Europäischen Union für die Schweiz und das Fürstentum Liechtenstein
Bundesgasse 18
CH - 3000 BERN 7
Telefon: +41 (0)31 310 15 30
Fax: +41 (0)31 310 15 49

Directorate-General for Research and Innovation
European Commission
B-1049 Brussels - Belgium